Madhya Pradesh cities bag top awards at 7th Smart Cities Award

Picture Credit: Businessworld

Madhya Pradesh bagged top honours in various categories at the 7th edition of BW Businessworld Smart Cities conclave and awards 2019 held in Port Blair on 29th November 2019.

Held in association with Administration of Andaman and Nicobar, the summit saw the gathering present discuss Smart Cities Ecosystem and recognise the best work from the cities, states and Industry working to create sustainable ideas and solutions to make the Indian cities progressive.

A total of 25 awards were presented to the winners in 21 different categories, in which Madhya Pradesh won in the following categories:

Public Private Partnership Initiative Of The Year:

Bhopal Smart City Development Corporation (Digital Connectivity using smart pole)

Bharti Infratel Limited (Bhopal Smart City Under PPP on BOOT Model)

Smart Start-Up Award

Jabalpur Smart City Limited (Jabalpur Incubation Centre)

Smart Swachhta Award Of The Year

Jhansi Smart City Limited (Construction of Pink Toilet Units at 7 Locations )

Smart City CEO of the Year

Mahip Tejasvi (Gwalior Smart City Development Corporation Limited)

Smart City (INDIA) Award Of The Year

Bhopal Smart City (Bhopal Smart City Development Corporation)

Smart State Of The Year

Madhya Pradesh

Nava Raipur Atal Nagar Smart City Corporation Ltd. (Nava Raipur Atal Nagar Integrated Smart City Systems) also bagged the award under Smart and Sustainable Infrastructure Development category.

Key Themes that were discussed at the summit included Innovation across Smart Cities Mission, City Surveillance and Security, Smart Waste and Water Management, Smart Mobility, Smart Meter-Pole-Lighting-Energy-Grid-Buildings, AI-IoT-ML & Blockchain for Smartest Cities, Technology Interventions in Smartest Mission of the Country, Tech Banking for Urban Modernization, Smart Healthcare & Education, Connectivity to the last mile and Digigaon.

Chetan B. Sanghi , Chief Secretary-Andaman & Nicobar Islands was Special Guest for the event while rest of the speakers included eminent personalities like Satyaprakash Patel, Commissioner-Aligarh Municipal Corporation, Hari Kumar Singh, CEO- Imphal Smart City Ltd., Dr Ashish Kumar Srivastava, CEO- Dehradun Smart City Limited, Swati Bhadauria, District Magistrate- Chamoli, Uttarakhand, Abhay Gupta, CFO- Gwalior Smart City Limited, NSN Murty, Partner & Leader-Smart Cities, PwC India, among others.

A high profile jury consisting of Dr Aruna Sharma, Former Secretary – Steel, Govt of India & currently Member – Digitization Committee- RBI; Dr Nirmaljeet Singh Kalsi, Former Additional Chief Secretary- Govt of Punjab; Shankar Aggarwal, Former Secretary- Urban Development, Labour and Employment-Govt of India; Tanmoy Chakrabarty, Group Government Affairs Officer- Tata Sons Private Limited and Sajiv Nath, Managing Director- India & Neighbouring Countries- Yokogawa India Limited, felicitated and recognized individuals, policy makers, companies, government bodies and associations working behind the successful execution of India’s Smart Cities Mission and encouraged them to develop Central Government’s initiative in a better manner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here